Varadero||Myself, The Beach, and I!

Going to Cuba on a whim was easy. I inquired about going to Cuba on a Tuesday, paid for my ticket on Tuesday, and left Monday. Booking my ticket was the easiest part; it was having to tell my family, three days before I was due to leave, that was the hardest.

Friday’s conversation:

“Hey family. I decided to book a ticket to Cuba. I’m leaving Monday. You won’t be able to contact me while I’m there. Yeah…I can’t wait.”

It was a dry conversation that left them anxious and nervous for my well-being and safety. But, let me tell you, that is nothing new to me! To them, the idea of Cuba, came out of nowhere. They asked me why I thought it was a good idea to go Cuba–and worst of all (to them)…ALONE! But, visiting Cuba had been on my radar for a while. Everywhere is on my radar.

Knowing that I could not be reached, that there would be no wifi, and that I was pretty much dropping off of the grid made them uneasy, while, I was tad enthused. Those moments of withdrawal are therapeutic and necessary.

The night before I left for Varadero. No wifi meant...I had to write to myself--or Like I was talking to someone else.
The night before I left for Varadero. No wifi meant…I had to write to myself–or Like I was talking to someone else.

“The world [my world] is [would be] quiet here (there, in Cuba).”

-Lemony Snicket

…I did meet some folks. Those who helped me navigate, translate, a couple who ripped me off, and one I plan to visit in her country.

Any-who,

My Go Pro Hero 3+ was pretty much brand new. I bought it for diving purposes. But, since I have a PADI certification, it’s not recognized in Cuba.

Because, “Murica.”

I spent a lot of time trying to take photos on the beach of Varadero, Cuba trying to figure this thing out. I have HUNDREDS of photos of myself all because I did not know what I was doing. And, now, I am sharing all these selfies with you!

I have so many photos in my Go Pro Album for all of the BURSTS I mistakenly took.
I have so many photos in my Go Pro Album for all the BURSTS I took because I didn’t know what I was doing!

DCIM100GOPRO

DCIM100GOPRO DCIM100GOPRO DCIM100GOPRO DCIM100GOPRO DCIM100GOPRO DCIM100GOPROOn my last day in Varadero, I went snorkeling.

There was not much to see.
There was not much to see.

With the snorkeling excursion, there was a cave tour. The fresh water in the cave was entirely too cold for my liking. Others found it refreshing. I like my water temperatures 70º and up! Nonetheless, the beach water was fantastic.

Headed to the Cave!
Headed to the Cave!

Hanging out in the cave.

Hanging out in the cave.

Right before my Go Pro died!

Right before my Go Pro died!

My second day on the beach was cool.

Walking to the beach “from home”...
Walking to the beach “from home”…
Walking from my casa to the beach!
Walking from my casa to the beach!

DCIM100GOPRO

 

DCIM100GOPRO

There was a shallow spot out in the water that I just sat in for moments at a time. The water was warm, the sun was shining.

DCIM100GOPRO

I was not lonely…but only alone for the moment.

…just kidding. I was kinda lonely! Lol

8 thoughts on “Varadero||Myself, The Beach, and I!

  1. I really want to visit Cuba as well! I’m still trying to figure everything out with ours as well–you got some fun photos though! The beaches look gorgeous!

Have a Say!

