There’s a Peach Out There for Me, Somewhere!

Fresh moroccan peach juice.
Fresh moroccan peach juice.

Morocco has left a lasting impression on me where their produce is concerned. While in Rabat, I had the best peaches the world has ever given me. Every morning I  stopped by a fruit stand to buy peaches for nearly 2-3MAD (barely one USD) for nearly five peaches. The peaches were DIVINE – every time.  They were so good that I would eat them with a bit of dirt on them.

You know what they say: “God made dirt; and dirt don’t hurt.” Right?

 I was so obsessed with the consistency of the deliciousness of the peaches. I was in peach heaven. I ate up to five peaches a day. I found myself having peach juice with my meals if the restaurants offered it (and most did).

It’s been over a year since I’ve been to Morocco (May 2012) and I have not had a peach to my liking since. It is rather disappointing.

Organic food is considered one of the fasted growing sectors of the American food industry. No pesticides, fertilizers, irradiation, and generic engineering (and, yadda-yadda-yadda) are to be used for produce to be considered organic. And, you would think, me buying organic peaches would make a difference in taste.

But, nothing compares to FRESH food. Fresh foods are more appealing than organics.

It wasn’t 100% peach juice. It was the next best thing.
It wasn’t 100% peach juice. It was the next best thing.

I always assume the organic peaches will be good. Thus far they have been disappointing. It just breaks my heart. Morocco has set the bar extremely high for peaches and now I have been on an ongoing mission for a satisfactory peach. Georgia, I’ll see you soon. Until then…

 …The quest for delicious peaches continues!

…waiting on lunch (and my peach juice) after having a hammam.
…waiting on lunch (and my peach juice) after having a hammam.
One thought on “There’s a Peach Out There for Me, Somewhere!

Have a Say!

