American gal meets French guy…

Wandering around Montmartre!
Wandering around Montmartre!

It began to rain while I wandered aimlessly around the area of Montmartre. Really sucked that I forgot my umbrella. I was out diddle-saddling around trying to recognize scenes from Amélie, sight Moulin Rouge, visit the church on the hill, Saint Pierre de Montmartre, and getting my picture drawn by the over priced artists on the hill. (For the experience, you know?)

Street Painter and moi!
Street Painter and moi!

I was having a great time. I witnessed a street fight between a passer-byer and a painter (who flung his red paint at the guy). Thoroughly entertaining! I decided to head back toward the Metro station, wherever that was, until it began to pour down raining. I lingered off of the tourist path and spotted a Cafés Richard ahead to wait the rain out.

I ordered tea and a baguette and sat and people watched. I didn’t think my people watching would involve an ambulance racing to tend to a man I witnessed fall out on the streets. Paris was giving me mild drama and I liked it.

Ambulance to the rescue of a fallen man.
Ambulance to the rescue of a fallen man.

A guy hastened by me and in less than a minute hurried back and spewed some French words at me. I stared blankly and responded slow and with poor french: “Je ne parle pas francais”. . Of all the things I could not remember from my french class “I do not speak french” was something that stuck. The guy responded: “If you wait here until I come back from my meeting” we can have a drink”. I was down with that. Besides, it was STILL raining.

IMG_3340

Thirty minutes passed by the time he returned. We sat and talked for about forty-five minutes. He had a beer and I order more tea. Samuel was his name. Not much of a language barrier – but we both found ourselves trying to simplify what we were saying for better understanding. When we left the café he showed me to the Metro Station and we agreed to meet again the following day.

Our introduction could have been a nice opening in a romance film. Considering, we were in Paris and all that jazz.. Being happily spoken for, that would not be the case here.

I was glad to have met Samuel. I had no problem wandering about Paris as a solo traveler – but to have a cool local show me around and take to me to places I would not have thought to go to myself was awesome. Not to mention, he helped me with my poor French and took great photos so I wouldn’t end up with countless selfless.

Samuel and I at the Eiffel Tower!
Samuel and I at the Eiffel Tower!

Samuel met up the next day near the stop around the Montmartre. He asked me where I wanted to go and navigated the way!

Samuel took me to the Jardin du Luxembourg, or the Luxembourg Gardens which was not on my itinerary. I loved it there nor was it all touristy. It was so casual and lovely. We even saw a couple being totally carnal in an area they may (or may not have) thought was hidden in a bush. But, from my understanding, the French do not shy away, from what we American’s call, P.D.A – and public affection is nearly second nature. Correct me if I’m wrong.

Buying ice-cream at the Jardin du Luxembourg!
Buying ice-cream at the Jardin du Luxembourg!
French Senate at the Jardin du Luxembourg.
French Senate at the Jardin du Luxembourg.

DSC00215

Jardin du Luxembourg
Jardin du Luxembourg

He showed me his university and accompanied me to the “Tour de Eiffel”. I asked him if he drink cocktails with St. Germain. His answer was no – but he took me down Boulevard St. Germain in response to my question!

St. Germain
St. Germain

I always headed back home before nightfall just to be on the safe side. I was “solo-sally” in Paris. Samuel and I concluded our evening, promised to keep in touch via Facebook, and I head back “home” to where I was staying in the Latin Quarter. It was nice to share the day with someone funny and so easy-going.

 

More photos:

Top of Montmartre Hill at Saint Pierre de Montmartre.

IMG_3334 IMG_3351

Moulin Rouge
Moulin Rouge
Paris-Sorbonne University – and Samuel & I’s shadow.

DSC00215

4 thoughts on “American gal meets French guy…

  1. oh terry is was a real pleasure for me to be able to show you my Paris, the light paris, paris cultural, if we had more time, you would have discovered more and more….

Have a Say!

