What Can Be More Personal Than A Hammam?

Entry door into my bath room!
Entry door into my bath room!

I was able to experience a hammam, while here in Rabat, Morocco. A private hammam! A hammam is “a sensual bathing retreat that evolved over thousands of years and traces its roots back to the Roman Thermae”.

I fully undressed, slipped on disposable undies[which were removed in one swift motion mid service], put on a robe, and headed into the steamed bath room.

Once lead inside the steam bathing room, I removed the robe and was directed to a marble table by the bather. Once on the table, she rinsed off my frontal and my rear. You would think I’d be uncomfortable but that was not the case.

I laid down where she began to scrub me with an argon soap on. She literally left no crevice untouched. She washed my hair, my hands, my feet, my rear…THERE…everything! I was given a pure sugar & honey facial scrub. The honey seeped into my mouth…it was like a mid hammam snack.

The hammam went on for an hour. I had never felt so clean in my life. I felt like an infant being cleansed by its mother. It was awesome! There will be a next time.

This is an art piece of a traditional hammam. This is exactly what went down!
This is an art piece of a traditional hammam. This is exactly what went down!

 

 

5 thoughts on “What Can Be More Personal Than A Hammam?

  1. Great post, I loved reading it and literally giggled at the scrubbing of THOSE body parts! I went through a very similar experience so can completely empathise with the personal nature!

Have a Say!

